First Impressions : YoyoRecreation Draupnir Prototype

So a few days ago I had the opportunity to meet up with Raymond Thian, co-founder or 28spin.com, who just got back from AP2013 with a couple of prototypes. On of them piqued my interest, as it seemed to have very narrow rims. I picked it up, admiring it’s unconventional design. “It’s the Prototype Draupnir,” said Ray. “From YYR. Don’t ding it.” I just swallowed, and nodded in acknowledgement.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Specs (from yoyorecreation.jp): 
Diameter : 57mm
Width : 43mm
Weight : 63.5g
Response : Large Slim 1.1mm or 0.9mm
Bearing : Size C

*disclaimer: this review is based upon the prototype and may not be representative of the final product.*

As seen in the pictures, the yo-yo seems to have a thinner rim than most yo-yos. It’s shape seems reminiscent of some of C3yoyodesign’s newer yo-yos, particularly the Movitation. I’m not sure if the bearing is standard, as it was what came with the yo-yo when Ray lent it to me.

On a throw, the first thing you realize is that it’s very light and niffy. YYR’s site puts the weight at 63.5 grams, so it’s squarely in the lightweight category.  The lack of rim weight however, did not seem to affect the yo-yo’s horizontal/off-axis stability, as I had no trouble completing any of my horizontal tricks. It does, however, seem to not spin as strongly over time, so I had to be delicate towards the end of some of my long combos. And, as like any other YYR product, it is ungodly smooth and virtually vibe-free.

To conclude, if you like playing fast and don’t mind yo-yos that feel light, this yo yo will suit you well. If not, well…maybe something else then, eh?

Leave a comment

Filed under First Impressions, Reviews

Leave a comment